News Article

SU Elections 2020 Results

Voting has now closed for the 2020 SU Elections, and we are pleased to announce the winners are...

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

Voting has now closed in our 2020 SU Elections. Thank you to all candidates who took part and to all of those who voted to decide who you want to represent you in 2020/21. After nine incredible days of voting, a record turnout for HASU elections saw an incredible 636 students vote in this year’s SU Elections.

With two full time Sabbatical Officers, and eleven part-time roles positions being elected, you turned out in your droves to cast a whopping 3485 votes in total. The record-breaking turnout of 14.6% (636 individual student voters and 3,485 votes cast with 4,349 eligible voters) edged last year's 3.8% total (217 individual student voters and 410 votes cast with 5,607 eligible voters), giving your President & Vice President a fantastic mandate to lobby for you.

With Dan Jervis (President) and Rosy Louis (Vice President) both deciding not to re-run this year, we were guaranteed a new President and Vice President. Thomas Oatey was successfully elected to lead the Union, alongside Lauren France who was elected as your new Vice President for 2020/21. Thomas Bell will be joining the new President and Vice President on the HASU Trustee Board in his new role as Student Trustee.

The new SU Executive team next year will be made up of following; Edward Albone as Sports Office. Alex Pearson is your new RAG Chair, replacing the outgoing Charlotte Morris, and Emma Jones was successfully elected as RAG Press and Publicity. Also joining the RAG team is, Emma Mayers who has been elected into the role of RAG Secretary.

We would like to congratulate all of our candidates on their phenomenal campaigns which have seen them elected into their respective roles.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of our candidates who stood this year – without you, there simply would be no election or this year’s record turnout. A big thumbs up also to all of the campaign teams who have worked tirelessly for each of the candidates, and kept us entertained, from quirky campaign videos to extravagant campaigning on campus.

The Students’ Union looks forward to welcoming the newly elected officers to the team in July, ready for a year of action, and change.


  • President – Thomas Oatey
  • Vice President – Lauren France


  • Student Trustee – Thomas Bell, & 1x vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • Academic Undergraduate Rep – vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • Academic Postgraduate Rep – vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • Engagement Officer – vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • Entertainment Officer – vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • Sports Officer – Edward Albone
  • Societies Officer - vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.
  • RAG Chair – Alex Pearson
  • RAG Press – Emma Jones
  • RAG Secretary – Emma Mayers
  • RAG Treasurer - vacant seat to be elected in Term 1 2020.

A breakdown of election results can be found here.